Claude

Anthropic's AI assistant known for careful reasoning, strong writing and coding, with an ad-free promise.

Visit Website ↗ by Anthropic

What is Claude?

Claude is Anthropic's AI assistant for working, imagining and deep thinking, offered free and through Pro/Max subscriptions with ad-free chats. It stands out for natural-sounding writing, careful reasoning and coding through Claude Code, and includes projects, artifacts, memory and app connectors.

Key features

  • Chat on web, desktop and mobile
  • Projects to organize chats and documents
  • Artifacts (interactive documents, code, apps)
  • Web search and deep research
  • Memory across conversations
  • Connectors to apps and tools
  • Claude Code coding agent on paid plans
  • Claude in Chrome and Microsoft 365

Watch: Claude tutorial

The Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Claude AI The Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Claude AI — Metics Media

Video by Metics Media on YouTube — plays here without leaving this page.

Claude models, modes & features

Models

Claude Fable 5.1

Model

Anthropic's most capable model tier, sitting above Opus, built for demanding reasoning and long-horizon agentic work. API price: $10 input / $50 output per MTok.

Access
API; Claude apps (on Pro via usage credits; on Max within weekly limits, per the pricing page's models table)
Context window
1M tokens (128K max output)
Adaptive thinking (always on)Text and image input, text outputTool use1M-token context at standard pricing; prompt caching supported

Limits: Most expensive widely available tier; slowest of the current lineup per Anthropic's model comparison · Knowledge cutoff June 2026 (per Anthropic's model comparison table)

Claude Opus 5.5

Model

The most capable of Anthropic's three core model families, recommended for deep reasoning, complex analysis, multi-step coding and long-running agentic work. API price: $4 input / $20 output per MTok.

Access
API; Claude paid plans
Context window
1M tokens (128K max output)
Adaptive thinking (always on)Text and image input, text outputTool useLong-running agentic coding and knowledge workFast mode available at premium pricing ($8/$40 per MTok)

Limits: Slower and higher cost than Sonnet and Haiku tiers · Knowledge cutoff June 2026 (per Anthropic's model comparison table)

Claude Sonnet 5.5

Model

Anthropic's balanced tier — described as the best combination of speed and intelligence — and the recommended default for most production work. API price: $2 input / $10 output per MTok.

Access
API; Claude apps (default model on Free and Pro per Anthropic's positioning)
Context window
1M tokens (128K max output)
Adaptive thinking on by default (adjustable effort; default effort high)Text and image input, text outputTool usePrompt caching (minimum cacheable prompt 512 tokens)Up to 300K output tokens on the Message Batches API with a beta header

Limits: temperature, top_p and top_k parameters return a 400 error on this model · Knowledge cutoff June 2026

Claude Haiku 5.5

Model

The fastest, lowest-cost current Claude model, for high-volume, latency-sensitive tasks such as classification, extraction and routing. API price: from $0.10 input / $0.50 output per MTok for prompts up to 100K tokens.

Access
API; Claude apps
Context window
1M tokens (128K max output)
Adaptive thinkingText and image input, text outputTool useOptimized for classification, extraction and routing

Limits: Two-tier API pricing by prompt length: prompts over 100,000 tokens are billed at the higher rate ($0.50 input / $2.50 output per MTok) · Knowledge cutoff June 2026 (per Anthropic's model comparison table)

Claude Mythos 5.1

Model Preview

Listed in Anthropic's platform pricing documentation at $10 input / $50 output per MTok, the same rates as Claude Fable 5.1. Availability and positioning could not be confirmed from the official pages opened in this session.

Access
API (limited availability; see gaps)
Priced identically to Claude Fable 5.1 in Anthropic's pricing docs

Limits: No description or availability detail on the official pages opened; see gaps

Claude Opus 5

Model Legacy

Previous Opus generation, listed in Anthropic's pricing documentation at $5 input / $25 output per MTok. Superseded by Claude Opus 5.5.

Access
API (legacy)
Deep reasoning and complex analysis

Limits: Superseded by Claude Opus 5.5

Claude Haiku 4.5

Model Legacy

Previous Haiku generation, listed in Anthropic's pricing documentation at $1 input / $5 output per MTok. Superseded by Claude Haiku 5.5.

Access
API (legacy); Claude apps (previous default fast model)
Fast responses for high-volume tasks

Limits: Superseded by Claude Haiku 5.5; context window not stated on the official pages opened

Claude Fable 5

Model Legacy

First Fable generation, listed in Anthropic's pricing documentation at $10 input / $50 output per MTok. Superseded by Claude Fable 5.1.

Access
API (legacy)
Long-horizon agentic work

Limits: Superseded by Claude Fable 5.1

Modes & features

Artifacts

Feature

Claude feature that opens generated content — documents, code, diagrams and interactive pages — in a dedicated side panel where it can be previewed, edited, iterated on and shared. The pricing page lists 'Create Artifacts' among the Free plan features.

Access
All Claude plans, including Free
Create substantial, self-contained content (documents, code, web pages) in a dedicated panelEdit, iterate and share generated content

Limits: Listed as available on the Free plan; usage counts against plan limits

Projects

Feature

Workspaces that organize related chats, documents and instructions. The official pricing page lists Projects for Pro ('organize your chats and documents') and up to 5 projects on the Free plan.

Access
Free (up to 5 projects); expanded on Pro and above
Organize chats and documents into project workspacesProject sharing and collaboration (per pricing comparison table)

Limits: Free plan limited to 5 projects per the official comparison table

Claude Code

Feature

Anthropic's agentic coding tool, included in all paid Claude plans per the pricing page FAQ. Usage draws from the same plan pool as chat, and it can also be run on pay-as-you-go API credits.

Access
All paid Claude plans (Pro, Max, Team, Enterprise)
Agentic coding in the terminal and IDEShares the same usage pool as Claude chat

Limits: Not included on the Free plan; heavy users can switch to pay-as-you-go API credits via a Console account

Extended / adaptive thinking

Feature

Current Claude models use adaptive thinking: the model adjusts how much reasoning it does, guided by an effort setting. Anthropic's model documentation describes it as on by default for Sonnet 5.5 and always on for Fable 5.1 and Opus 5.5. (Anthropic previously called this capability 'extended thinking'.)

Access
Current Claude models (API and apps)
Model decides how much to think before and during responses (adaptive thinking)Effort levels control thinking depth, latency and costThinking is always on for Fable 5.1 and Opus 5.5 per Anthropic's comparison table

Limits: On Claude Sonnet 5.5, sampling parameters (temperature, top_p, top_k) are not accepted

Research

Feature

Claude's research feature, listed in the official plan comparison table on claude.com/pricing. Third-party summaries describe it as a Pro-and-above feature, but the per-plan checkmarks were not recoverable from the official page text in this session.

Access
Paid Claude plans (feature listed in the official plan comparison)
Deep research reports across sources (feature name confirmed on the pricing page)

Limits: Detailed plan availability was not captured from the official page text; see gaps

Voice mode

Feature

Voice conversations in the Claude apps, listed in the official plan comparison table on claude.com/pricing.

Access
Claude apps
Talk to Claude by voice in the apps

Limits: Plan availability not itemized on the pages opened

Connectors

Feature

Integrations that connect Claude to external apps and tools; the Free plan already includes 'Connect your apps and tools', and the pricing comparison lists connectors plus enterprise search among plan capabilities.

Access
All plans, including Free
Connect external apps and tools to Claude via connectorsEnterprise search on higher tiers (per comparison table)

Limits: Admin controls apply on team/enterprise plans

Compare models

Tick “Add to compare” on 2–3 models above.

Claude plans & pricing

Free

$0

consumer subscription

  • Chat on web, desktop, and mobile
  • Search the web, create files, and run code
  • Memory across conversations
  • Connect your apps and tools
  • Create Artifacts
  • Claude Design, Slides, Docs
  • Projects (up to 5)

Official pricing source ↗

Pro

$20/month (or $17/month with annual subscription, $200 billed up front)

consumer subscription

  • Everything in Free, with more usage (at least 5x Free usage per 5-hour session)
  • Claude Code
  • Projects
  • More Claude models (Opus access; Fable via usage credits)
  • Claude in Chrome and Microsoft 365
  • Claude Science
  • Hand off and schedule tasks

Official pricing source ↗

Max

From $100/month

consumer subscription; billed monthly. The pricing page presents Max as a single plan with a choice of 5x or 20x Pro usage (Max 5x / Max 20x columns in its comparison table).

  • Everything in Pro
  • Choose 5x or 20x more usage than Pro per 5-hour session
  • Higher output limits for all tasks
  • Early access to advanced Claude features
  • Priority access at high traffic times
  • $100 to $200/month in API credits to build on the Claude Platform

Official pricing source ↗

Team

Per-seat pricing (exact seat prices not visible in the retrieved official page text — see gaps)

team subscription; annual billing available. Do not confuse with the per-seat figures in third-party articles, which were not used here.

  • Shared team workspace with central billing and administration
  • SSO and admin controls (per plan comparison categories)
  • Standard seats give more usage than Pro; Premium seats give 5x more than Standard (per pricing page FAQ)

Official pricing source ↗

Enterprise

$20 per seat per month plus usage billed at API rates (billed annually)

enterprise subscription; self-serve or sales-assisted, per the pricing page FAQ

  • Everything in Team
  • SCIM, audit logs and a Compliance API
  • Custom data retention controls and role-based access
  • HIPAA-ready offering

Official pricing source ↗

Claude API

✓ Official API available

Claude models are available through Anthropic's Claude Platform API (Messages API) with pay-as-you-go token pricing, prompt caching, and a Batch API at 50% off. Models are also available on Claude Platform on AWS (billed via AWS Marketplace in Claude Consumption Units), Claude in Microsoft Foundry, Amazon Bedrock and Google Cloud.

API pricing: API pricing is per million tokens (MTok), billed separately for input and output, and is separate from Claude subscriptions (a paid chat plan does not include API usage; Max plans are an exception, including $100 or $200/month of API credits). Current rates: Claude Fable 5.1 $10 in / $50 out; Claude Opus 5.5 $4 / $20; Claude Sonnet 5.5 $2 / $10; Claude Haiku 5.5 $0.10 / $0.50 for prompts up to 100K tokens and $0.50 / $2.50 above that. Batch API gives 50% off input and output; prompt caching offers discounted cache reads (2.5% of input price on Fable 5.1, 5% on Opus 5.5 and Sonnet 5.5, 10% on most other models). Fast mode for Opus 5.5 is $8 / $40. Claude is also available via Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud and Microsoft Foundry, billed through those platforms.

API documentation ↗

Integrations & platforms

Claude for Microsoft 365Claude in ChromeConnectors for apps and tools (in Claude apps)Amazon BedrockGoogle Cloud (Vertex AI)Claude Platform on AWSClaude in Microsoft Foundry (Azure)Claude apps on web, desktop (macOS/Windows), iOS and Android

What should you use it for?

Hardest reasoning and long-horizon agent workClaude Fable 5.1 — Anthropic's top tier for demanding reasoning and long-horizon agentic work ($10/$50 per MTok).
Agentic coding and complex knowledge workClaude Opus 5.5 ($4/$20 per MTok), or Claude Code on a Pro/Max plan, which shares the plan's usage pool.
Everyday production workloads (default choice)Claude Sonnet 5.5 ($2/$10 per MTok) — Anthropic's recommended balance of speed and intelligence.
High-volume classification, extraction and routingClaude Haiku 5.5 (from $0.10/$0.50 per MTok for prompts up to 100K tokens); use the Batch API for a further 50% off.
Personal everyday useFree plan covers everyday chat with Artifacts and up to 5 Projects; Pro ($20/month) adds Claude Code, more models and at least 5x the usage.
Organization rollout with compliance needsTeam for shared workspaces and central billing; Enterprise ($20/seat/month plus API-rate usage) for SCIM, audit logs, custom retention and a HIPAA-ready offering.

Pros

  • Highest-rated writing quality and instruction-following among chatbots
  • Claude Code bundled into every paid plan for developers
  • Explicit ad-free positioning vs competitors

Cons

  • Rolling usage caps (5-hour windows plus weekly limits) hit heavy users
  • Occasional over-refusals on sensitive prompts
  • Pro+ tiers get expensive for teams that need high volume

Claude at a glance

PricingFreemium
CategoryWriting & Content
Platformsweb, ios, android, windows, macos, api
CompanyAnthropic
Official websiteclaude.ai
chatbotllmai-assistantwritingcodingclaude-codeartifacts

Sources & verification

Model, plan and pricing information on this page was last verified on 22 October 2026 against official sources. Prices and line-ups change — always confirm on the official website before buying.

What we could not verify (kept honest)
  • Release dates: the official Anthropic pages opened list knowledge cutoffs (June 2026 for the current models) rather than launch dates, so all 'released' fields are null rather than guessed.
  • Academy page staleness: Anthropic's academy.claude.com course page names Claude Sonnet 5 and Claude Haiku 4.5 as the current Sonnet/Haiku, while the Claude Platform docs (models and pricing pages) list Claude Sonnet 5.5 and Claude Haiku 5.5 as current. The platform docs were treated as authoritative here.
  • Team plan seat prices: claude.com/pricing was opened, but the retrieved text covered the individual plans and FAQ in detail; exact Team seat prices were not visible in the retrieved official text, so no Team seat price is stated (third-party listings were not used).
  • Computer use: Anthropic documents a computer-use capability for the API, but the relevant docs page was not retrieved in this session, so it is not listed as a verified feature here.
  • Claude Mythos 5.1: listed in Anthropic's pricing docs at the same rates as Fable 5.1 with no description on the pages opened; third-party reports describe restricted, verified-organization access, which was not confirmed on an official page in this session.
  • Context windows for legacy models (e.g. Haiku 4.5) were not stated on the official pages opened, so their contextWindow is null.
  • Per-plan model availability in the Claude apps (which models appear on Free vs Pro) is described only at tier level ('Sonnet', 'Opus', 'Fable') on the pricing page; the comparison table's checkmarks did not survive text extraction, so exact per-plan model/version access is approximate.

How to choose the right Writing & Content tool

A good writing tool should make your words better, not just faster. Look at the quality of its suggestions on your own kind of writing — articles, emails, marketing copy or academic work — and whether it can match a tone you set rather than forcing a generic voice. Practical checks: does it help with structure and headlines, or only grammar? Are there tools for rewriting, shortening and expanding? If you publish online, SEO guidance and plagiarism checking are worth having. Be careful with tools that promise fully automatic articles: search engines and readers both reward original, edited work, so choose a tool that strengthens your draft instead of replacing your judgement.

Compare all Writing & Content tools →

Claude FAQs

What is Claude?

Claude is Anthropic's AI assistant for working, imagining and deep thinking, offered free and through Pro/Max subscriptions with ad-free chats. It stands out for natural-sounding writing, careful reasoning and coding through Claude Code, and includes projects, artifacts, memory and app connectors.

What are the main features of Claude?

Claude offers Chat on web, desktop and mobile, Projects to organize chats and documents, Artifacts (interactive documents, code, apps), Web search and deep research, Memory across conversations, Connectors to apps and tools, Claude Code coding agent on paid plans and Claude in Chrome and Microsoft 365.

How much does Claude cost?

Claude follows a freemium model: a free tier is available, and paid plans unlock higher limits and advanced features. Check its official website for current plan prices.

What are the pros and cons of Claude?

Strengths of Claude include Highest-rated writing quality and instruction-following among chatbots; Claude Code bundled into every paid plan for developers; Explicit ad-free positioning vs competitors. On the downside, Rolling usage caps (5-hour windows plus weekly limits) hit heavy users; Occasional over-refusals on sensitive prompts; Pro+ tiers get expensive for teams that need high volume.